PDA

View Full Version : 92 GSXR11 CV float heights

Rocket
16-12-2006, 08:51 PM
I'm gunna pull my carbs and try to find out why it's running really doggy down low.
On a light throttle (steady cruise and after gear changes) it runs rough and doesn't clean up until i get a bit of throttle into it. Then it seems to pull okay.
It won't idle properly either and my exhaust is very black.
I'm pretty sure it's fouled the plugs up too so will also give them a clean.

I'm thinking it's my float height. Can anyone tell me what they should be ? I'll have the carbs off and upside down on the bench.
i believe I'm supposed to measure from the gasket surface to the top of the float. But is this with the float tang just touching or actually closing the float valve ?

At first I thought I might try dropping the needle but I think the needle doean't come into play until higher up.
Advice please...I'm a bit of a noob at this stuff but am determined not to let a lack of competence get in my way of fucking this right up!
Not helping the fact is that it's running a pressurised fuel system because of the turbo. Although I think normal tuning rules do still apply.

cutcat
16-12-2006, 09:25 PM
Hey Rocket, my uneducated diagnosis is...that your float levels will be fine as long as they are all even. What you are suffering from is that your bike is drawing too much fuel thru the carbs because of the restricted inlet passage the turbo has given your motor. Once boost develops everything becomes fine and is balanced out by your pressurised carb set-up. So to stop sucking too much fuel when the turbo not boosting you will need to add an air priority valve or jet down your idle circuit.

Rocket
17-12-2006, 09:40 PM
thanks Cutcat, while i've got them out, i'd still like to measure them.
anyone got the float heights ?
If not, I'll just go with the advice and make sure they're even.

Hillsy
17-12-2006, 10:02 PM
Hey Rocket, this is a bit in-depth, but it might help: