PDA

View Full Version : question for racers/track junkies

yoda
19-12-2009, 09:25 PM
trying to find somewhere to help with my setup before i get to a track- ie what gearing etc etc. Want to save myself some hassle when i show up to a ride day/race and have a bit more of a setup idea in my head.
is there a racing forum somewhere that is worth a look(google searched but didnt find much)?

cheers heaps!

devo
19-12-2009, 10:22 PM
www.postclassicracing.com.au then just click on links
Oh and what are you racing and where ????? gearing is different on all types of bikes. 2 stroke or four stroke.
lotsa factors to play with Yoda
General rule of thumb with gearing to a track is getting into top gear by the end of the straight
I have been racing for around 20 years on and off . you can get a ballpark figure from someone but remember what they have done and what you have done to your bike is what will make the difference.
First thing is get some good braking and chassis happening with a bike that is basic and work from there .
Learn to walk before you try and run you know what i'm sayin

damo1
20-12-2009, 08:23 AM
Depends what your riding??

StuNVA
20-12-2009, 10:54 AM
http://nswroadandtrackbikes.com/forums/cmps_index.php

dave_isbald
20-12-2009, 02:37 PM
To start off with I wouldn't worry too much about set up if its the first time down there.

Maybe drop the front and raise the arse a little to stop you running as wide if you're not used to those cornering speeds but aside from that just get out and learn. Get some braided lines so your brakes aren't spongy. Those things help you to shit yourself a little less which in turn helps you to focus on set up of you and the bike.

They have suspension guys out there now who are great for setting you up based upon your weight and your ride - costs about $70 and they'll tweak it all day for you based upon your feedback.