PDA

View Full Version : Plugs?

Large
26-04-2009, 07:25 PM
I'm rewiring parts of the ZX10 and I've been trying to find suitable plugs for the wiring harness. I wont use the Tamiya style 2/4/6/12 pin plugs cause they're crap.

Went with these audio plug thingys that I got from Jaycar for the dash, but I'm not sure if they'll be ok and they're a bitch to solder.

http://www.asfphotos.com/upload/1240746852.jpg

http://www.asfphotos.com/upload/1240761763.jpg

I've seen some really nice waterproof plugs but they're fucking big and ugly.

Thoughts/anecdotes or ideas welcome

livewire
26-04-2009, 07:37 PM
Be brave and just solder em in with no connectors.
Connector = 3 possible fuckups. One at each termination and 1 mechanical contact.
Either that or Deutsch connectors

BANDITROD
26-04-2009, 07:38 PM
i am very curious to where you get these aswell i think fimp was going to bulk buy on bike plugs at one stage maybe he can help out

EFE 1230
26-04-2009, 07:50 PM
When I worked as a m/c courier I used these plugs to put the mic set up in my helmet they weren't that reliable and needed regular replacement.

If you aren't too much of a tightarse check out JEGS PERFORMANCE
http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/KeywordSearchCmd?storeId=10001&catalogId=10002&langId=-1&N=0&Ntt=electrical+connecter&Ntk=all&Nty=1&D=electrical+connecter&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchpartial&Dx=mode%2Bmatchpartial&searchTerm=electrical+connecter

Jup
26-04-2009, 07:51 PM
We used this type of plug (XLR) in our concert setups and found them very reliable as long as you get the soldering right (no dry joints) and they had no trouble with massive wattage, just be sure to do your homework to be sure they'll handle the power.

Use the clamps provided(?) to secure the cable to the body of the plug so that no force is applied to the soldered joint.