PDA

View Full Version : how big should i go? (rear sprocket)

Arron_01r1
28-05-2008, 11:14 AM
just before i place the order, i was wondering how big i should go on the rear, of my 01 r1 fighter, ive seen products up to 72 teeth, as fun as that sounds would it be to big? im just learning the stunt side of things and havent realy got a clue as to how big? i dont mind changing the sprocket and chain over after the weekend for the daily commute, so i have no problem with the R1 not sitting snuggly on 200 :D any sort of info or experience on this would be very helpfull Thanks:)

Ross_247
28-05-2008, 11:50 AM
I went 2 down on the front, which has made my bike a mad wheelie machine, and still sits fine on the freeways etc...wheeleis if you want to in second and third... obviously revs a bit higher but still ok ... worth giving a go [:p]

zx12argh
28-05-2008, 12:38 PM
Bikes with big sprockets are harder to wheelie - It may make the bike easier to get up but you'll sacrifice your fine control. You'll end up throttle chopping and probably repeatedly slamming the front down. I ran my VTR with stock gearing and with practise could get it above 60 degrees and hold it smoothly. I went down a two teeth on the front sprocket of my 12r and that was plenty - if i had my time again I'd only go 1 tooth - or not at all. If you check the top guys these days they run stock gearing doing slow circles etc...

pommie02
28-05-2008, 01:12 PM
I have been running my fzr on a 52 rear sprocket for the lasttwo years, i found it rideable, great at pulling up the front wheel, it still managed 200kmh down the strip the only down fall was the fuel tank range...120 k's to 18 ltrs of fuel.
where are you buying them from ?...im thinking of selling my rear sprocket, its 52 tooth, 530 chain size and its done about 3000 k's

Bear
28-05-2008, 02:33 PM