PDA

View Full Version : Aprilia RSV Mille Tuono streetfighter to be ..... result unknown

Tuonorush
14-11-2013, 01:50 PM
Hi Guys,

I am a newbie on the forum and am in the throws of starting my first streetfighter bike project.....

Having built I a slightly 'silly' kitcar (670kg with a 200 rwkW turbo motor) about 10 years ago, an incurable urge to build something new and above all different started to rear its head again about a year to a year and a half ago....

Milling over the options, I was firstly leaning towards building another 4 wheeled 'thing', but as fate would have it, a mate built a ZX9R streetfighter and that started the cogs turning that I actually wanted to build a two wheeled monster as my next project, but what bike to start with....

I had been campaigning my trusty Aprilia RSV Mille Tuono in various European and Australian race series for about 10 years, but where she was cutting edge in 2004, she was starting to show her age and the younger, leaner, whipper snipper bikes (like the lurvely Triumph 675's) were starting to show her up.

With the above thought bubble already in place, I felt it could be time to pull her off the track and put her back onto the road, but not as she was before...

After much thinking as to whether I should do anything with this bike, I concluded that although she 'aint worth much' and I could probably go to the nearest bike dealer an buy a much faster bike for much less money by the time the project is complete, that this is not why we do the things we do, is it.. he he he:cool:

I have a total Gem of a wife who only had ONE criteria for the bike..... It HAS to remain a 2-up bike, so that we can go to rock concerts together and park at the front gate.... got to love her priorities...

So for this first instalment, the question to you, is how do we turn this:

A beautiful piece of Italian design (with a number of warts that have to be eliminated) into something truly special and worthy of this web-site.....