PDA

View Full Version : What's the best type of welder to get for general modifications

EVLZX
08-07-2012, 12:28 AM
Just curious what's best to get for general use?

Never done any welding before.

BANDITROD
08-07-2012, 08:41 AM
everyone usualy goes for a mig i love my arc but i have had a lot of experience with it so it works for me

K6Thou
08-07-2012, 08:43 AM
What do you define as general use mate ?

xa-mont
08-07-2012, 09:28 AM
i would say a cheapish gas/gassless mig is the best for not very frequent general (read: mild steel) use.

RevHead
08-07-2012, 09:32 AM
as Trav said ,also jump on eggbay and have a look there's plenty on there for the right price

Redmohawk
08-07-2012, 11:06 AM
How long is a piece of string ? If your just doing the odd mild steel job and tight for cash a cheap shit $100 fan cooled stick is where its at. If your doing a bit more and dont like the idea of really learning to weld, as a learner on a cheap arc will make cocky shit welds till taught/learnt through experiance how to do it right.

A cheap ($150 to $300) gasless mig is the next step up with flux cored wire (a bit pricy for wire but still cheaper than bottle rent for gas you dont use much) can be left alone in the shed for 12 months without costing you anything will weld better than a stick (for a learner , once you can weld with a stick its the better option) welds good outside as flux cored wire isnt effected by light wind to bad. Still have to chip off flux after a weld and splatter on work is a little messy. Nothing that cant be fixed with a 4inch and flap disk.