PDA

View Full Version : vibration

The crow
05-11-2007, 09:16 AM
hi everyone i'm new to all this and im hopeingyou can assist me with a small prob. I have a 96 bandit s1200 and can't get rid of all the vibration in the handlebars left side is ok but the right side still hurts and yes i do have decent weights on. Any help would be great thx[:p]

Large
05-11-2007, 09:34 AM
Hi and welcome TC.

Does it vibrate when standing still? or only when rolling?...or both?

The crow
05-11-2007, 09:45 AM
wow that was quick [:p] its one of those vibrations that only happens when you ride and you don't realy notice so much till you've been rideing for 25-30 mins when your hand starts to slowly ache

scotty
05-11-2007, 10:07 AM
standard ??? dont bandits bars mount on gromets through the top tc, if so have a geez at em (check the bolt under the top triple

fimpBIKES
05-11-2007, 10:08 AM
u may need to double check your posture

if u are holding yourself up with your arms under braking u might simply be using your right arm a bit more

how often do you ride and for how long?

also, might be worthwhile to quickly check that the handlebars mounts are secure and nothing attached to them is doing little annoying vibes (like mirrors, switchgear etc)

chopaweeza
05-11-2007, 01:55 PM
Anyone thats owned an old Brit bike could tell you the answer. Engine Mounts. I had a similar problem with my old 96' GSF1200 and after I shimmed my engine mounts the problem smoothed out.

fimpBIKES
05-11-2007, 02:43 PM
i love this place!

The crow
05-11-2007, 04:30 PM
Thx to everyone for their quick and helpful responses, everything ive beentold about t his place is true. I'm positive nothing mounted on handlebars is loose and there is no rubber mounts on handlebars mounting, however the engine mount idea sounds like a goer as you expect a lge japanese motor to move a bit i was looking for an excuse to get the motor out will let you know how i go thx again all

RUSS M8
05-11-2007, 05:50 PM