PDA

View Full Version : Dan's Fire Blade

danulmer18
26-11-2011, 04:33 PM
Hey guys,
I have been working on and off on this bike for 3 years now and she is just about done. i thought i would share some quick pics (nicer pics to come when everything is tidy)

She was a 94 blade at one point. Just a few of the bits on her:
custom subframe with r6 tail
custom machined headlight tube with HID projection
custom machined switch housing with wires thru the bars
custom machined pegs
custom machined plate holder
custom machined tripples and fork covers
megatek front guard
modified swingarm
gas flowed and ported head
dyna 2000 ignition
st machine shorty levers
alloy brake res
alloy mini dash
alloy mirrirs
one off 4 into 1 headers with micron gp can
about a million other little bit and pieces of carbon or machining.
everything is either powdercoated, black chromed, black anodised, black ceramic coated or painted.

I just got her started and holy crap is she fast! it hits a bit of a powerband around 5k and the front end comes up super easy. I thought i would have to play with the jetting as I've been told these blades don't like short exhaust but i kept the stock airfliter and she works great. i think the combo of the raised compression, exhaust and the right ignition timing has turned her into a monster! She sounds amazing too

Only thing left to do is button up some wiring and tidy some bits.

One thing I am looking for help on is:
I modified the rad so the pipe on the right (top of the rad)goes up and inside the frame to the thermostat housing instead of down and around. I got rid of the small coolant air bleed hose (before I knew what i was doing)

My question is how can I tell if there is an air bubble in the coolant somewhere?
And which way does the coolant circulate? Is the thermostat housing and the hose on the right side (to the top of the rad) the hot coolant out?