PDA

View Full Version : R1 NOS

Matt
05-07-2006, 03:42 PM
Just wondering if anyone knows much about fitting nos systems? I'm toying with the idea of nos'ing an R1. Are better pistons etc a must? obviously the basic system is just a matter of running lines, mounting bottle etc, but I'm not sure what has to happen to the engine itself.

05-07-2006, 07:17 PM
Matt,im no expert,but i recently read sumwhere that nitro is the easiest bolt on power gain without having to modify pistons and shit,as long as ya bearings and running gear can handle the extra power

Tony Nitrous
05-07-2006, 07:47 PM
Matt,

Busy now,
Will PM you my number next week ;)

Tony.J.

Matt
06-07-2006, 05:58 AM
quote:Originally posted by Tony Nitrous

Matt,

Busy now,
Will PM you my number next week ;)

Tony.J.

;)

Stocky
06-07-2006, 08:17 AM
What model R1 ?

How much more power ?

Matt
06-07-2006, 09:04 AM
Carbied model 98-01
It doesn't need to be a balistic huge HP motor, just a bit of fun for the drags etc

Tony Nitrous
06-07-2006, 05:27 PM
I would be going with the traditional Holley/NOS wet system.
Sure everyone will have there own favorites but for a carb'd bike the basic wet NOS is tried and tested, easy to fit, not sure about here but in UK lots of folk at the drags ran this system, which meant you could borrow swop Jets and use their bottles/adapters to top up yours etc etc, along with folk having a lot of knowledge / experiance.
Just made life a little easyier.

I used a 2.5lb bottle on the street, about as big as is sensible. If i do it again I would use a smaller bottle and have a full spare sat read to swop.

Tony.J.

Matt
06-07-2006, 07:00 PM
Thanks Tony,
Easy/simple setup is good for me. I'll have a bit of a look around and try and get some ideas on costs and fitting requirements and I might give you a yell when The bike and my finances are ready if thats ok

Tony Nitrous
06-07-2006, 10:29 PM
quote:Originally posted by r1crashtestdummy

Thanks Tony,