PDA

View Full Version : ticking sound

mrcheese
08-08-2007, 07:40 AM
not sure if its my cam chain or not. Im pretty new to going this far in working on my bike, Im not really keen to take it to the local theiving bike shop down the road. So is it easy for me to find out/look out/fix my self or should I part with my hard earned for the good of my lady bike.
How do I know if it is the cam chain by the way.

alfiestorm
08-08-2007, 09:42 AM
generally a ticking or very light tapping sound is valve clearences which are piss easy to do but a time consuming job.
Cam chains usually makes a rattling mettalic russeling noise and are not always a constant noise when it is worn or the cam chain tensioner has become faulty,sticking (weak spring not strong enough to push the adjuster ram,ratchet stop mechanism stuck open allowing the adjuster ram to float in and out).
You will either have lock nut and screw adjusters with these the job will not cost you anything or shims which will require the clearences to be measured first and noted down then the cams will have to be removed to gain access to the bucket (metal cylinder looks like a metal flat bottomed bucket)which will reveal the shim. The appropriate shim can then be purchased or swapped about with what you have.
You will need the work shop manual as it will have a chart inside for selecting the right shim and the correct procedure for you particular model of bike.
With the shim process I strongly recommend you have someone with you who has done this job a few times before as the cams will have to come out and put back correctly timed get that wrong and it will at the very least bend the valves and at worst destroy the engine but you would have to be a right numpty to get it that wrong.

Hope some of the above waffle helps out it might sound imposing but the shim job is actually quite easy. :)

alf

qickdraw
08-08-2007, 12:37 PM