PDA

View Full Version : TLS speedo option?

TKZBYK
04-07-2006, 03:41 PM
Hi to you all. I am new to streetfighters after having finally bitten the bullet & decided I will tear the fairing off my beloved TL1000S. Great bike, great torque, but shit clip-ons. Love the look of the bike around this website. Awesome!

Anyway... does anyone have any idea what I could use for a replacement speedo, tacho for my bike? The original is quite large, & takes a factory fitted multi pin plug into the back. I wouldn't be comfortable to re-wire , so is there another option out there? Do you need the lights for the indicators, neutral switch etc?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Lookin forward to hangin around here more!

Cheers
Tony

Gix11
04-07-2006, 03:51 PM
Welcome aboard Tony. This is where VEETWO_TLS steps in I think.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y46/veetwo_tls/tls-pipes-Custom.jpg

He's your man for this one.

fimpBIKES
04-07-2006, 08:56 PM
im just trying to nut this out mate,
i think either way u would need to dive into the wiring

but the way i plan to do it is to tap into whatever wires to the speedo that i need and leave the standard plug alone
that way i wont loose my little screen on the stock dash if i ever need to go into dealer mode

if u had some thing like the units stu sells and a wiring diagram for the bike i couldnt see why an autoelectrician would charge to much to wire up your unit

TKZBYK
05-07-2006, 08:40 AM
Thanks folks. The dealer mode screen is something I hadn't thought of. What are you guys running currently?
I reckon I could have a crack at the wiring, but I'm finding it hard to "let go" & start undoing all the good Suzuki did in the first place, in the fear of stuffing something up.
If I had a starting point I could maybe check what I could do from there.
What are the Unit's Stu sells, & I suppose someone out there must do an aftermarket unit?
Thanks so far!

sluglie
05-07-2006, 12:57 PM
quote:Originally posted by TKZBYK