PDA

View Full Version : how to plastic smooooth agin?

Funkenfresh
25-05-2007, 09:36 PM
well ive chopped up a front fender out of a MX one... but its a little battered... how do i get it smoooooth again??? buff it out??? finely sand it??? whats best?? thanks

chopiesel
25-05-2007, 09:59 PM
what bit is rough? i cut my stock one and used a dremel to make the edge smooth.

scotty mac
25-05-2007, 10:05 PM
try using a hot air gun on the flat surfaces, it takes the furyness off the plastics. if that helps.

Funkenfresh
25-05-2007, 10:21 PM
its on the surface not the edges.. theres gashes and all sorts.. impressions from rocks and sand....
its a shiney surface.... so would a hair drier work?

scotty mac
25-05-2007, 10:33 PM
sand it first then hot air gun. a high powered hair dryer might work? but when you sand it, it will go fury like,thats when the gun comes in handy it melts the fur kinda. i know guys in car audio that use this on dashes to fix stuff ups.i'm no pro at this btw just a bit dodgey;)

Funkenfresh
25-05-2007, 11:14 PM
so will a spray can of matt black have to be whipped out??

scotty mac
25-05-2007, 11:24 PM
2 cans:D:Dna if it flexes alot you need a plastic primer of some sort cause the the paint might come off.

Rocket
25-05-2007, 11:34 PM
I have a heat gun you can borrow if you want to give it a try Abel.

Funkenfresh
26-05-2007, 12:22 AM
ill keep that in mind rocket thanx.... ill try hair drier first as i dont want it to become a puddle yet...
plastic primer... rocket which stores sell this??? and do you need "special" pastic paint??

Rocket
26-05-2007, 01:22 AM
S&S Industries or a Dulux trade centre would od plastic primers.
Maybe Supercheap Auto's or similar would probably have it too.
You using a spraygun or are you looking for spray cans ?
S&S Ind etc are for the trade so you may not get spray packs of it from them.
Once you put the primer on, I'd say you'd just use normal paint over that.