PDA

View Full Version : Shim kits

Nudie
27-10-2011, 06:26 PM
Im not a mechanics ring piece, but I own a pliers and id like to have a go at doing my valves. Where do you guys get your shims from? How much should I expect to pay for 'em? If I have to order 'em, will I have 'em in time to butcher and rebuild before NFR (this year)?

MONO
27-10-2011, 07:02 PM
I sell full kits just pm me make & model of you bike and I'll shoot you an ASF member price {most dealers want $6 per shim ahahhah)
Cost you a fraction to do it yourself if your confident in having a go ......

Nudie
27-10-2011, 07:28 PM
PM sent

ALBI
27-10-2011, 08:00 PM
the easyest way mate is to measure all ur clearances and then remove them keep them in order and if you are good at algebra "yes that is the maths s for it "you can then work out wat size shim you need to close the gap,and wat i do is rob pete to pay paul !!
just say no 1 and 2 on ur inlet uses a .230 shim and ur exh 1 and 2 has .235 and ,240
and you need to close the gap on inlet 1 and 2 to a shim value of .240
and you need to open the gap on exh 2 out to .245
then you use the current .240 shim on the exhaust and put in the inlet ! and so forth that way insteed of buying a shim kit you only have to go into a honda shop and buy just a .240 and a .245 shim !!

do that make sence ??

ALBI
27-10-2011, 08:12 PM
so if youre shim is say (.240) and ur gap is .015 and the spec is (.005-.010) you want to aim for the tighter tolerance for less valve overlap!!
so then you will need a shim value of (.250) this will give you ur clearance of .005.
hope this helps mate "provided i got my maths right lol"

(a+b=c)-d =e !! (.240+.015=.255)-.005=.250 yah i got it i hope !!

ALBI
27-10-2011, 08:18 PM
(.240 + .015 = .255 ) - .005 = .250
( a + b = c ) - d = e

sorry had to re do to make sure i did it right lol

Hillsy
27-10-2011, 08:37 PM