PDA

View Full Version : wide wheels, narrow frame....

trumpy509
25-04-2011, 10:35 PM
hi guys, here's my dilema.

i've just bought a '75 z900 that i want to moderately streetfighter. I've already got a '98 triumph speed triple, that ive been riding around on for a couple of years, from which I'd like to use the running gear mated to the Z frame. I will be bracing the Z frame around the headstock, across the downtubes in front of and behind the motor, and around the swing arm pivot area. And will probably change/machine the headstock to suit the complete triumph front end. The frame wil obviously be mono-shocked. My big question is how do i get the single sided swingarm, wheel,chain and rear sprocket to line up?

I did get something similar done with an old Z650 a few years ago, but it was a pretty simple transformation to ZZR running gear. The swinging arm was skimmed, the frame mono-shocked and the drive sprocket welded and spaced to allow for clearance and alignment, this was all done without too much trouble. That was in the UK but, and having been in Aus for only 5 years I just don't have the network of "handy mates" that I had access to back there. (I don't have a bottomless pit of cash available...however the ex wife seems to be doing ok!!) so just going along to a machine shop/frame builder is probably going to be too expensive.

The engine will remain pretty much stock (although a O/S rebore/big bore kit could be on the cards at some point in the future)with a simplified wiring loom and a nice deeptone 4-1 exhaust sytem. I'm really trying to get the look of the bike sorted first before worrying about making a "performance" streetfighter.

Any help/advice/pics/videos/drunken ramblings would be muchly appreciated....

Cheers, Steve

ozzy1100
25-04-2011, 11:56 PM
sound like a intresting project mate
there are plenty of us on here into old sckool style musle bikes mixed with a twist of fighter