PDA

View Full Version : Bought a sandblaster today

sharky
08-03-2007, 07:35 PM
I bought one of those diy sandblasters today...kinda like a very basic spray gun. Seems to work ok although it won't remove the really heavy rust discolouration.
This is st/st
http://www.streetfighters.com.au/forum/upload/93876070912570.JPG

and a rusty piece of steel....
http://www.streetfighters.com.au/forum/upload/93876070931955.jpg

And one of my float bowls
http://www.streetfighters.com.au/forum/upload/93876070913020.jpg

This was with basic Mitre 10 fine sand ($4 a kilo).
I have bought a large bag of salt tonight ($1 a kilo) and I'll try that this w/e...just out of curiousity really.....The pucka stuff is about $40 a kilo !!!
Anyone out there used anything unusual for blasting ?

RUSS M8
08-03-2007, 07:46 PM
only used garnett for blasting. seemed to go alright, but I'm not a blasting expert... [:p]

megareg
08-03-2007, 09:10 PM
The salt idea sounds good, having particles of sand/garnet imbedded or not cleaned out properly really scares me, with salt, just wash, rinse and all good... Where did you get it??

08-03-2007, 09:14 PM
Yeah, where, how much etc. Details and pics mate

Deano
08-03-2007, 09:34 PM
we sell a few different types of sandblasters. from the cabinet style to the hand held type. we also sell the grit for them $49 per 20kg bag

sharky
08-03-2007, 09:36 PM
Got it from local shop for $40. I'll put up and pic and name tomoro.
Trying to find a substitute for glass beads as they are the best to finish aluminium with (sand first, then glass, gives dull effect and smooths the surface.)

08-03-2007, 09:38 PM
What size cabinets Deano, be handy to have something like that in the garage. I'm in a townhouse, so no backyard to go frre form in.

sharky
09-03-2007, 05:17 PM
Deano, Can you supply glass beads for aluminium blasting ?

sharky
09-03-2007, 07:16 PM
http://www.streetfighters.com.au/forum/upload/7394050025013.jpg

This is the gun...high tech, high quality bit of kit [:o)]