PDA

View Full Version : ZX10R Instrument Cluster Swap

Xenocatalyst
28-10-2010, 01:18 PM
Hello All,

I'm new to the forum and have come in search of technical assistance.
I'm from Orange NSW and ride a 1982 Honda CB900F, which I have been improving on for the last 6 years.

There is a bit reading ahead and any help you may offer would be greatly appreciated.
After having got all but the finer details sorted I thought I was happy with the bike, I was Wrong! (Or stupid)

All I needed for it was stiffer fork springs, rewiring, a few little cosmetic things and install the new exhaust.

I ended up buying some second hand wheels, forks, triples and controls.

So I set out with these goals in mind:
- Upgrade to wheels, forks, brakes, triple clamps and controls from ZZR1200. done
- Install CBR1100XX swing arm done
- Make new headlight mounts done
- Make new wire harness delayed
- Install new exhaust in progress

During the course of doing these things I also decided to:
- Custom taillights next year
- Custom rear hugger guard next year
- Coil on Plug setup easy wiring mod
- Hydraulic over cable clutch system (no idea if it has any benefits) later
- Braided Brake Lines next year
- ZX10R instrument cluster Current Issue
- fuel injection mod next year

Back in march this year
http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/Xenocatalyst/MyBike20100610_01.jpg

Most Recent progress
http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/Xenocatalyst/Mods/05Mockup01.jpg

So there's my introduction. Here is my Problem.
The Kawasaki ZX10R Instrument Cluster.
http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy309/Xenocatalyst/Mods/0607ZX10Rspeedo01s.jpg

I am currently testing the cluster using the power supply from a pc.
Upon powering up it runs through the startup diags and everything is fine, as per the manual.
The blinkers, High beam, oil warning, neutral and shift lights all work as expected and the fuel warning light flashes.

First up, how to turn off the fuel warning light?