PDA

View Full Version : gitt'n guns

336LJ
15-08-2010, 01:32 AM
finally pulled my finger out. waiting on the call to go and pick up my new toys.
put a deposit on a no4 mk1 .303. and sent the papers away for a new Remington 700 sps stainless in .308 (still undecided on that one tho) but they should be selling for about 1100 - 1200 when they come in.

whats a good example of a .303 actually worth these days? I'm looking at about 650-700 with scope, bayonet and timber in good nick. and not half as fucked as most of the other ones on the shelf for around the 200-300 mark?

If I'm being shafted I wanna know! since I'm new to all this shit (like back when I used to buy cars and bikes and get raped financially every time cause I buy first then think about it later). I'v done my best leading up to walking in to a dealer to get an idea on price but it varies so much with these old things, I'm not 100% on what I should be looking for when I can't ACTUALLY get out and test it before I buy it. apart from havin a look down the barrel for pitting or shitty rifling.

kev@vcm
15-08-2010, 01:51 AM
a freind of mine is a comp shooter with a local shooters club , get in with your local shooter club.

and when my mate was starting out he brought his guns through them at a good price he brought 2 rifles and 1 pistol .

not sure of what he spent but there nice looking units

336LJ
15-08-2010, 12:13 PM
quote:Originally posted by kev@vcm

a freind of mine is a comp shooter with a local shooters club , get in with your local shooter club.

and when my mate was starting out he brought his guns through them at a good price he brought 2 rifles and 1 pistol .

not sure of what he spent but there nice looking units

It would be nice if I could find a club that isn't some kind of zombie land filled with degenerate morons who wear cowboy boots and track pants and are the EXACT kind of people that shouldn't actually be in possession of fire arms to begin with!