PDA

View Full Version : RGV suggestions

moriss1
09-06-2010, 05:56 PM
Yes I am new to site and a victorian to boot so be easy on me.
Any hoo I am between bikes at the moment and I have in my shed a complete RGV M? model .When I pulled it down the barrels were scoured and it looked like it had eaten some dirt along the way.
So I hate to see the beautiful frame wheels etc go to waste so

why not an engine swap?
My problem is I aint smart.
Idont want to put in a big single cause they dont rev enuf so I thought a twin would be the way to go but I am struggling to work out good candidates.

So far there are things like
suzuki sv650
hyosung gt650

honda transalp transpal
yamaha trx (too big?)
etc
then I struggle and thought kawasaki kle 500
so has any body out there got better suggestions(printable) or reasons why any of above are best choice
I am looking at better performance than what it started life as,
performance potential,ease of mounting etc

I am interested in your thoughts but if you suggest harley leave your address so you can receive the complimentary biff in the beak
Ta

Deano
09-06-2010, 06:35 PM
tl motor i think. fucked if i no if it would fit but i would try

BANDITROD
09-06-2010, 06:58 PM
yep what deano said and you need a slap for even mentioning that hyosung crap

BANDITROD
09-06-2010, 06:59 PM
what about a big single two stroke motor

Swordsy
09-06-2010, 07:12 PM
SV650 motors are too big for the frame, ask Fimp, he's got one mocked up at the moment (by mocked up, I mean strung up with ratchet straps :P).

bladehunter
09-06-2010, 07:47 PM
Go the big single, nothing like the grin one can put on ya face....or maybe CR500 ?

ALBI
09-06-2010, 08:17 PM
i remember a few yrs ago in streetbike mag a bloke in englnad made a lucky strike 500gp replica out of the rgv t 250 used a yamaha 500 for the life of me cant rememeber he even had the leathers aswell looked the dogs nuts

moriss1
09-06-2010, 08:18 PM
big two stroke was considered now to find one