Thread: First fighter build - 2007 YZF R6

Pizza delivery boy/girl

First fighter build - 2007 YZF R6

So, a few years ago i had a bit of a high speed disagreement with a stubborn fence. No major injuries but it left me a little shaken up and the bike in need of some serious TLC.

I garaged my bike and got a new job, lady, house etc and it pretty much went on the back burner.

A few months ago my testicles miraculously grew back and the need to own and ride a motorcycle again became a burning desire.

Not having the necessary knowledge or skill to know how much damage I took it to the bike doctor on Scarborough beach road for an assessment of the damage

(I imagine that i will be ridiculed for not stripping it back to its frame and using nothing but the power of my mind and a tooth brush for not doing this myself, but be gentle, its my first time also i don't have a shed yet)

Anyway, it came back with a few problems, fairing were toast along with the radiator, lights, fans and basically anything in front of the forks, also the front wheel was buckled.

I asked them to sort out the wheel which they did for a very reasonable price, replace the radiator and make sure the bike was sound mechanically while i decided its fate.

I was leaning towards throwing a race fairing on it and becoming a weekend warrior when i randomly saw a few street fighters and decided to commit.

I asked Steve from TBD if he could throw on a few headlights and indicators so i could ride it again and he managed to pull some slick work which i really like.

So: End rant;

The bike at the moment:

So, now that i have gotten this far i plan to do the rest myself.

At this stage I need to get drill the triple clamp, source some bars and levers and bring mount all its peripherals on said bar.

Buy new cables and extend the wiring to its new position.

Relocate the radiator overflow and the part of the wiring loom that has a giant heatsink attached to it, that i don't even know what it does.