PDA

View Full Version : Local knowledge

pt
29-05-2008, 10:19 PM
I'm looking at moving down to Melbourne next year and have to start applying for jobs soon so need some advice on wheres best to live.

I'm a nurse so it's gotta be close to hospitals and i have a list so far of hospitals that i want to work at.

so far:
Royal Melbourne, The Alfred, Austin, Monash, St Vincents, The Epworth.

i know most of them are close to the city (maybe not so much the austin) but keeping in mind need to be within 15 minutes drive, what area would be the pick of the bunch?

and for anyone who knows (patient experience or otherwise) any yays or nays on the hospitals?

coming from sydney so anythings an upgrade[:p]

cheers
Pete

oldskool
29-05-2008, 11:39 PM
St Kilda, Elwood, Richmond keep away from Prahan unless your a gay nurse. :D

HueyonaBlade
30-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Fark me mate you are talking big money no matter which hospital you choose to work from they are all in high quality areas and 15 mins drive isnt going to get you that far from town. I'll try and see if I can dig up a map and give you a pic of the hospitals and there location so that you might be able to have a look on the net to see some real estate agents costs

HueyonaBlade
30-05-2008, 12:59 AM
Oh and the pick I'd say would have to be Epworth , St Vinnies and the Alfred stay away from the Royal , just my bad experiences creeping in

pt
30-05-2008, 01:51 PM
quote:Originally posted by oldskool

don't worry, toorak rd is not my scene. don't think you'd see many streetfighters around there.....[:p]

pt
30-05-2008, 01:52 PM
and what about the austin and monash? they aren't so close to town....?

scotty
30-05-2008, 01:52 PM

And he would no:D[8D]:D

HueyonaBlade
30-05-2008, 09:12 PM
quote:Originally posted by pt

and what about the austin and monash? they aren't so close to town....?